Southern African Development Community - Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Directorate (SADC/FANR)

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) has been in existence since 1980, when it was formed as a loose alliance of nine majority-ruled States in Southern Africa known as the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC), with the main aim of coordinating development projects in order to lessen economic dependence on the then apartheid South Africa. The founding Member States are: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. 

The Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources (FANR) Directorate was launched in December 2001 as part of SADC restructuring exercise. It is one of four Directorates of the SADC Secretariat.

The Directorate replaced the previous system of Sector Coordinating Units in which responsibility for coordination of the FANR sectors was vested in four Member States (Malawi was responsible for Inland Fisheries, Wildlife and Forestry, Botswana, for Livestock Production and Animal Diseases Control, and Agricultural Research and Training, Namibia for Marine Fisheries and Zimbabwe for the Overall Coordination of the FANR cluster and Crop). The FANR cluster of sectors is the largest within SADC, accounting for more than 50% of all SADC programmes of action.

The FANR cluster comprises the following technical areas of co-operation:

  1. Food Security;
  2. Crop Development;
  3. Livestock Production and Animal Disease Control;
  4. Natural Resources Management comprising Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries; and
  5. Agricultural and Natural Resources Research and Training,

To find out more about SADC / FANR, please visit their website: